homepage logo

Bantams win state championship

By Staff | Mar 15, 2019

Front Row (left to right): Cooper Bonebrake, Dalton Vietz-Reile, Robert Dibble, Macen Heisler, Cole Vietz-Reile Back Row: Head Coach Jay McClintock, Assistant Coach Keith Dibble, Dylan Bartsch, Alec Wolf, Andrew Lemar, Riley Tuenge, Tucker Schoneberg, Austin Dibble, Assistant Coach Tim Bartsch.

The Rugby Bantam Hockey team recently played in the Bantam B “Gold” State Tournament in Minot on March 8-10. They won all three of their tournament games, including the championship game on March 10 versus Crosby.

Rugby was the No. 1-seeded team in Bantam B in North Dakota. Crosby was the No. 2-seeded team.

The championship game was a thrilling 5-4 win by Rugby. Rugby was leading by three goals and seemingly in control until Crosby struck for a goal with under 4 minutes left in the game and then scored another a minute later.

Crosby pulled their goalie for an extra skater, but the Ice Hawks were strong defensively in the final 2 minutes and 41 seconds to win the title.

Ironically, Rugby and Crosby were also in the finals of the Bantam Gold State Tournament last year in Grand Forks with Crosby winning that one. In the year previous to that, this group of Rugby players also won the Pee Wee Gold state championship.

Rugby competed in the Bantam B East League this past season and won the league title with a record of 15 wins and 0 losses, and in league games outscored opponents by 138 goals for versus 10 goals against. They were also undefeated in all games played against Bantam B West League teams.

The team’s overall record against all teams played was 42 wins, seven losses and two ties.

Team members are Macen Heisler, Austin Dibble, Cole Vietz-Reile, Cooper Bonebrake, Andrew Lemar, Dalton Vietz-Reile, Dylan Bartsch, Tucker Schoneberg, Alec Wolf, Riley Tuenge, Robert Dibble (goaltender) and Shanx Brossart (goaltender).

“It’s a really good group of kids, and they worked really hard,” said Coach Jay McClintock.

Team managers were Vicky Reile and Michelle Schoenberg. Coaches were Jay McClintock, Keith Dibble and Tim Bartsch.

– Article by Jay McClintock with addition by Tribune Reporter Sue Sitter.

Please Enter Your Facebook App ID. Required for FB Comments. Click here for FB Comments Settings page