homepage logo

Wrestlers place at Booster invite

By Staff | Jan 19, 2018

Rugby High School’s wrestling team stayed home last weekend, competing in a two-day tournament as well as duels.

Riley Zachmeier took first place in the Rugby Panther Booster Invitational, defeating Central Cass’ Andrew Volk by decision. Zachmeier had three wins all by pin against Nicholai Topolski (Kenmare-Bowbells), Alex Ibanez (Grafton) and Braedon Gumke (Watford City) to advance.

D.J. Schneibel took second, losing by decision to Bismarck Century’s Riley Roesler. Schneibel pinned Konnor Stordalen (Bismarck Century) and won by decision over Watford City’s Jackson Faller to advance.

Joey Berg took third place, winning by decision over Harvey-Wells County’s Derek Faul. Berg defeated Bishop Ryan’s Logan Sharpless in the quarterfinals and Watford City’s Trey Polivka in an earlier round. Berg was sent to the consolation rounds after losing by major decision to Turtle Mountain’s Dawson Zerr. Berg defeated Northern Lights’ Lyle Lunday by decision to advance to the 3rd place match.

Aden Jensen took eighth place, losing the 7th place match by major decision to Bishop Ryan’s Ethan Winick. Jensen defeated Wyatt Goulet (Turtle Mountain) by pin, but was sent to the consolation rounds after falling to Grafton’s Austin Thompson. Jensen would later defeat Mondak Thunder’s Logan Berg by major decision before losing by decision to Goulet.

Brady Volk also took eighth, losing the 7th place match to Hayden Schall (Bishop Ryan) by major decision. Volk got a win early by pinning Mondak Thunder’s Austin Richardson, but then fell to Napoleon’s Garrett Jangula in the quarterfinals. Volk won by decision over Payton Witt (Kenmare-Bowbells) and lost to Velva’s Michael Thomas in the consolation rounds.

Ridley Odden had two decisive wins against Pembina County North’s Trevor Hinkle and Turtle Mountain’s Tristin LaRocque early before falling to Bismarck Century’s Hayden Johnsrud in the quarterfinal round. Odden lost by decision to New Salem-Almont’s Cody Irwin in the consolation rounds.

Dylan Grove had a win early, defeating Grafton’s Rey Rios by pin. However, Grove was sent to the consolation rounds following a loss by major decision to Velva’s Elijah Hackman. In the consolation rounds, Grove defeated Logan McRoy (Bishop Ryan) and Andrew Zuther (Central Cass) before falling to Bishop Ryan’s Kaleb Beeter.

Cole Schneibel was sent to the consolation rounds following a loss by decision to Grafton’s Brian Sisk. In the consolation rounds, Cole got a win over Bismarck Century’s Lykken Parlett before falling to Peyton Grunefelder (Napoleon).

John Jundt was sent to the consolation rounds after falling to New Salem-Almont’s Josh Irwin. Jundt later fell to Linton-HMB’s Ryan Holzer.

Issac Christianson was sent to the consolation rounds after falling to Parker Sandstrom (Williams County). Christianson later fell to Napoleon’s Cole Edwardson.

Brenden Kleespie fell to Turtle Mountain’s Frank Chapman. In the consolation round Kleespie fell to Devils Lake’s Ethan Sprenger.

Bryson Amyotte fell to Linton-HMB’s Logan Barnes. In the consolation round Amyotte fell to Cole Gerhardt.

Rugby won 32-21 over Harvey-Wells County, however lost 53-18 to Central Cass and 42-28 to Linton-HMB in duels on Jan. 11.

Kleespie won by technical over Harvey-Wells County’s Mason Feist.

Odden pinned Noah Herrington (Harvey-Wells County) and Josiah Crandall (Central Cass). Odden also won by technical over Barnes.

Zachmeier pinned Navarre Head (Harvey-Wells County), won by decision over Andrew Volk, and won by technical over Trey Jacob (Linton-HMB).

DJ Schneibel won by decision over Bailey Lawson (Harvey-Wells County) and Ryan Muscha (Central Cass), and pinned Linton-HMB’s Riley Mattheis.

Jundt fell to Carsen Mertz (Harvey-Wells County), Junior Totay (Central Cass) and Ethan Zink (Linton-HMB).

Jensen fell to Issac Felchle (Harvey-Wells County. Jensen defeated Evan Gross (Central Cass) and Nathaniel Geestman (Linton-HMB), both by pin.

Cole Schneibel fell to Elliot Dockter (Harvey-Wells County). Cole lost by fall to Jeremiah Sullivan (Central Cass) and Quinn Roemmich (Linton-HMB).

Amyotte lost by major decision to Grant Schatzke (Central Cass), and by fall to Garett Zink (Linton-HMB).

Grove lost by decision to Zuther and by fall to Holzer.

Brady Volk lost by major decision to Chase Gross (Central Cass). Brady pinned Linton-HMB’s Kaden Klein for a win.

The wrestling team competed at a quadrangular in Grenora Thursday and are competing today in Rolla. The next action for the team is a tournament at New Salem-Almont Jan. 26 and 27.

– Tribune Staff Report

Please Enter Your Facebook App ID. Required for FB Comments. Click here for FB Comments Settings page