homepage logo

Softball Association adds five new members to hall of fame

By Staff | Mar 17, 2017


Meeting in conjunction with the winter meeting of the North Dakota Amateur Softball Association, the Hall of Fame selection committee selected five veterans of the game to the state Hall of Fame.

The new members cover the entire spectrum of the game from sponsoring, to managing and of course to long careers as players.

This year’s class includes Leland “Lee” Ekren of Rugby who played, managed and has sponsored teams for over 30 years. The five new members will receive their Hall of Fame plaques and certificates at the annual Hall of Fame banquet to be held at the Gladstone Inn in Jamestown on Saturday, April 8. All previous Hall of Fame members in attendance will be recognized at that time.


Lee was nominated in the category of sponsor and manager/player after involvement in the game for over 30 years, first as a player then as a sponsor of both men’s and women’s slow pitch and men’s fast pitch.

Lee is credited with beginning a slow pitch church league and a commercial league in the 1960’s. He also started a fast pitch league with Lee as player/manager and sponsor. His teams have competed in tournaments around the state for many years and several of his teams have placed in state tournaments in both women’s and men’s slow pitch. In addition to involvement in adult softball, Lee has been a big supporter of youth programs sponsoring and buying uniforms and equipment for the youth program. He also has served as League Rep for the Rugby area. Lee is the second of three generations in his family to compete in softball and all of his children also have softball connections.

Please Enter Your Facebook App ID. Required for FB Comments. Click here for FB Comments Settings page