homepage logo

Rugby Ice Hawks win State PeeWee Gold Tournament

By Staff | Mar 17, 2017

The Rugby PeeWee Hockey team capped an outstanding 2016-17 hockey season by winning the PeeWee Gold State Championship March 3-5 in Bottineau.

The “Gold” tournament is the highest rated bracket in North Dakota PeeWee B Hockey.

Rugby won the title by defeating Bismarck Red 5-1 in the first game, Langdon 5-3 in the semi-final and Fargo Freeze 3-1 in the title game.

Those scoring one or more goals for Rugby were Cole Vietz-Reile, Andrew Lemar, Austin Dibble, Macen Heisler, Riley Tuenge, Noah Wright and Dalton Vietz-Reile. Other team members who contributed greatly were Cooper Bonebrake, Tyler Oppen, Dylan Bartsch, Alec Wolf, Jerick Ziegler-Kramer and Levi Saxton.

Goalie Robert Dibble stopped a total of 78 out of 83 shots for a 94% save percentage. Rugby took 15 total penalties to opponents’ 9.

Rugby went undefeated in league play, going 10-0 in league games. Their overall record for the year was 38 wins, 4 losses and 2 ties.

The team scored 204 goals for the year and allowed 71 goals, for an average of 4.6 goals per game to opponents’ 1.7 average.

The team played games against teams from North Dakota, Minnesota, Manitoba and Saskatchewan.

The key to this year’s success was great team defense by all forwards and defensemen and outstanding goaltending, as well as the ability to score key goals when needed.

The coaches for the team were Jay McClintock, Keith Dibble, Tim Bartsch and Justin Wright. Team managers were Vicky Reile and Michelle Shoneberg.

Rugby Amateur Hockey Association, who is affiliated with North Dakota Amateur Hockey Association and USA Hockey, sponsors the team.

Jay McClintock is the Rugby Ice Hawk’s head coach. Tribune Reporter Carissa Mavec contributed to this report.

Please Enter Your Facebook App ID. Required for FB Comments. Click here for FB Comments Settings page