homepage logo

Wrestlers compete at state tournament

By Staff | Mar 3, 2017

Six Rugby High School wrestlers advanced to the state tournament, which was held Feb. 16-18 in Fargo.

Of the six, only one advanced to the finals, with 152-pound junior Kaden Jaeger falling to Bishop Ryan’s Konner Beeter for a second place finish.

Classmate Joey Berg took fourth on the tournament. A quarterfinal round loss to Pembina County North’s Tanner Urlaub sent Berg to the consolation bracket, where he defeated Murphy Lipp (Bishop Ryan), Jared Kaseman (South Border) and Josh Irwin (New Salem-Almont). Berg and Urlaub faced off again in the third place match, were Urlaub felled Berg at the 3:32 mark in the match.

In the 113-pound weight class, Hettinger-Scranton’s Mason Defoe defeated Riley Zachmeier in the quarterfinal rounds. Zachmeier would rebound in the consolation rounds, defeating Trevor Hoggarth (Carrington) and Conner Ledoux (Bishop Ryan) before being defeated by decision by New Salem-Almont’s Tayt Wolding. Defoe and Zachmeier faced off again in the fifth place match, where Zachmeier lost by a 6-3 decision.

Also competing for Rugby were Brady Volk (126 lbs.), Cole Schneibel (170 lbs.) and D.J. Schneibel (195 lbs.)

Volk was sent to the consolation round early after falling to Carrington’s Lucas Geiszler. In the consolation round Volk lost by fall to Hettinger-Scranton’s Chris Fisher.

Hettinger-Scranton’s Issac Anderson defeated Cole Schneibel at the 1:18 mark in the first championship round. In the consolation rounds Cole won over Carlton Turnquist (Alexander) before being defeated in 27 seconds by Pembina County North’s Austin Urlaub.

D.J. Schneibel was defeated by Grafton’s Jose Martinez in the first champtionship round. D.J. defeated Linton-Hazelton-Moffit-Braddock’s Bowdy Roemmich by decision in the first consolation round. D.J. would later fall to New Salem-Almont’s Shane Forster in the second consolation round.

-Tribune Staff Report

Please Enter Your Facebook App ID. Required for FB Comments. Click here for FB Comments Settings page