homepage logo

9-man football roundup

By Staff | Nov 10, 2016

With the semifinals ending last week and state championships on Friday, the football season is officially over.

For nine-man football, the Thompson Tommies faced the New Salem-Glen Ullin Holsteins at the Dakota Bowl in Fargo on Friday.

(sub.) Holsteins defeat Cougars, 38-14

In recent contests, the North Prairie Cougars were usually the first to get on the scoreboard.

That wasn’t the case last week, as the Holsteins eliminated the Cougars from state contention in a 38-14 matchup.

With less than two minutes to go in the first quarter, the Holsteins were first to act with sophomore quarterback Evan Henke capping a drive on a short keeper. Henke connected with senior tight end Shane Forster for the conversion, and later a 65-yard pass for the second score of the game.

The Cougars were unable to get on the board until just over a minute left in the first half, with senior quarterback Brody Cahill finding Jared Loing on a 38-yard pass completion. Cahill and Loing connected on the point after try.

Cahill then put up the last points of the half, as well as the game for the Cougars, on a 15-yard quarterback keeper.

Sophomore running back Garret Soupir would end the game in the Holsteins’ favor on two runs, one from nine yards out and the other from 28.

– Tribune Staff Report

(sub.) Region 4 all-region awards

NORTH PRAIRIE: Brody Cahill (senior), Garrett Munro (senior), Alex Abrahamson (senior), Jared Loing (senior), Gabe Leonard (junior), Tucker Boucher (junior)

Honorable mention: Linden Stave (senior), Carson Wilkes (senior)

ST. JOHN: Tyrall Defender (senior), Bryor Parisien (junior), Kyler McGillis (junior), Brian Gable (junior), Max Defender (sophomore)

Honorable mention: Dalton Prouty (junior), Alex Charette (sophomore)

TOWNER-GRANVILLE-UPHAM: Cole Bethke (senior), Caleb Cross (senior), Kolter Schell (senior), Shayden Luna (sophomore)

Honorable mention: Lane Bachmeier (senior)

DRAKE-ANAMOOSE: Brett Filler (senior), Tommy Gonzales (senior), Nick Hoffman (senior), Trey Windish (senior)

Honorable mention: Pete Buri (junior), Seth Fahy (sophomore)

DUNSEITH: Larry Beston (senior), Taylor Peltier (junior), Hunter Gladue (sophomore)

Honorable mention: Josh Nadeau (senior), Joe Parisien (junior)

SURREY: Ethan Campbell (senior), Colton Snyder (senior)

Honorable mention: Daulton Klein (junior)

BENSON COUNTY: Andrew Follman (senior), Spencer Follman (senior)

Honorable Mention: Ryan Wangler (junior), Reed Eberle (junior)

Coach of the Year: Pat Wilkes, North Prairie

Senior Athlete of the Year: Brody Cahill, North Prairie

– Awards info submitted by Brad Fitzgerald, St. John Public School athletic director-tech coordinator

Please Enter Your Facebook App ID. Required for FB Comments. Click here for FB Comments Settings page