homepage logo

Rugby’s Junior Marksman Place Second

By Staff | Jul 23, 2015

Photo submitted. The team pictured Bryer Erickson, Matt Oksendahl, Tyler Schmaltz, Kaden Jaeger and Seth Jaeger.

Led by Matt Oksendahl, the Rugby Youth Trap Shooting team took second place at the State Shoot held in Bismarck on Wednesday. The team consisted of Matt Oksendahl, Bryer Erickson, Seth Jaeger, Kaden Jaeger and Tyler Schmaltz.

Oksendahl scored an impressive 98 and was named Junior Champion. He was followed by Erickson, who scored 94; Seth Jaeger, who scored 92; Jaeger, who scored 88; and Schmaltz, who scored an 85.

When Oksendahl was asked what it took to become champion he stated, “I had a lot of help from my family. Our family has been shooting trap for a long time.” He continued, “I practice as much as possible and I try to shoot in as many tournaments that I can.” He has been shooting at the Junior competition level since 2009 accumulating in this great achievement. He has a bright future ahead of him guided by the love of his family, along with the humility he displays and the desire to work hard as hard as he does, future success is eminent.

Please Enter Your Facebook App ID. Required for FB Comments. Click here for FB Comments Settings page