homepage logo

Throwback tourney a success

By Staff | Jan 3, 2014

Submitted photo The white team emerged as the victors in last week’s Alumni Basketball Tournament. Pictured here are white team members (Back row, left to right) Justin Wentz, Josh Anderson, Rob Halvorson, Brian Johnson, Brad Kraft, Scott Hauck; (Front row, left to right) Tanner Schilke, Mike Duchscher, James Childress, Chad Myhre, Justin Bickler and Jeremy Schneider.

Amidst wintry conditions, the latest Rugby High School Alumni Basketball Tournament came and went. Four teams, composed of individuals from various years and decades, played each other in 16-minute halves.

The first game was between the gray (2002-06) and black (2007-08) teams. The gray team won, 61-50. The youngest team, the orange team (2009-2013), then played the oldest team, the white team (1982-2001). It was a close game, but the orange team got a slight edge over their opponent, winning 52-51.

The orange team was back on the court for the next game, in which they faced the gray team. The gray team prevailed, winning 64-49.

The fourth game was between the black and white teams, in which the white team won, 67-47. The black team then returned to the court to play the orange team. Orange won, 70-50.

The last game was between the gray and white teams. The white team won, 54-43.

Gray team members (Back row, L to R) Rich Danielson, Adam Hoffert, Eric Stevenson (Front row, L to R) Cody Goetz, Danny Schneider, Justin Keller, Brooks Houim and Kendall Schieve.

The white team took first place, gray took second, orange took third, and the black team took fourth place.

Proceeds from admission into the tournament went to the Bill Monson Memorial Scholarship.

– Tribune staff report

Please Enter Your Facebook App ID. Required for FB Comments. Click here for FB Comments Settings page

Orange team members (Back row L to R) Jason Goetz, Andrew Hershey, Mike Houim (Front row, L to R) Josh Michels, Bryant Halvorson, Kyle Halvorson, Jayden Welk and Jeremy Johnston.

Black team members (Back row, L to R) Tyler Haugen, Mike Zwingel, Willy Paul, Kyle Opstedal (Front row, L to R) Eric Nelson, Cody Strand, Dustin Fritel and Kellan Schmaltz.