homepage logo

That’s a wrap

By Staff | Aug 19, 2010

Last season all ‘B’ Modified racer Jim Morlock had to do to claim the Geographical Center Speedway (GCS) season points title was start the feature race.

This season, the Pettibone driver had a little more work to do to defend his crown.

Morlock held just a two-point lead over Bottineau’s Shawn Nostdahl heading into the final race of the season on Aug. 14 in Rugby and knew he couldn’t allow Nostdahl’s No. 58 car from getting more than three cars ahead of him.

Nostdahl finished runner-up in the 13-car feature, but Morlock was just two places back to ensure another points title. Morlock finished with 307 points to 304 for Nostdahl. Jeff Hooker was third with 296.

Ryan Schroeder won the final feature. Ken Hooker of Rugby was third. Other local drivers included Chad Bush of Harvey in sixth; Jeff Hooker in ninth; Kelly Bonn in 11th and Josh Sattler in 12th.

A night earlier, Nostdahl won the feature with Morlock second and Rugby’s Kelly Bonn third.

Minot driver Nathan Burke won back-to-back features on Aug. 13 and 14 and to claim the season points title. He finished with 195 points. Fellow Minot driver Kelly Henderson had to settle for runner-up both nights and also in the points race with 188.

Dustin Hoffert was a distant third in the overall points standings with 171. Rugby’s Tyler Dosch was fifth overall in points. Layne Opstedal, of rural Rolette, was seventh.

Rugby’s Larry Vetsch won the Pure Stocks points title in style, winning the final feature of the season on Aug. 14. Eleven cars started the feature race. Vetsch finished with 228 points and four victories in six races. Brad Fritel, of rural Rugby was second in the points standing.

Fritel, who claimed the feature win a night earlier was the only other Pure Stocks driver to win a feature this season. He won the season-opening race as well. Rugby’s Tony Koble was third overall in points and Rugby’s Carter Tuenge was fourth.

Dana Brandt won the season IMCA Hobby points title, edging Dallas Rice. Brandt had 187 to 183 for Rice.

Brandt won the Aug. 13 feature to all but sew up the points crown. Not to be outdone, Rice would win the final race of the season a night later.

Complete race results from Aug. 13 and 14 can be found elsewhere on this page.

Please Enter Your Facebook App ID. Required for FB Comments. Click here for FB Comments Settings page