homepage logo

News Briefs

By Staff | Jul 27, 2018

Axtman, Walker hit Top 5 in May

North Dakota Farmers Union Insurance based in Jamestown, ND announced that Zach Axtman and Christopher Walker both of Rugby, were among the top 5 producers of Health Insurance sales and Supplemental Premium sales for the month of May

Aug. 1 deadline for FSA committee nominations

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) Executive Director for Pierce County, Gary Kraft, reminds farmers and ranchers that they have until Aug. 1, 2018 to nominate eligible candidates to serve on FSA county committees.

County committees are made up of farmers and ranchers elected by other producers in their communities to guide the delivery of farm programs at the local level. Committee members play a critical role in the day-to-day operations of FSA.

“The Aug. 1 deadline is quickly approaching,” said Kraft. “If you know of a great candidate or want to nominate yourself to serve on your local county committee, visit your FSA office before the deadline to submit the nomination form. I especially encourage the nomination of beginning farmers and ranchers, as well as women and minorities. This is your opportunity to have a say in how federal programs are delivered in your county.”

Committees consist of three to 11 members and meet once a month or as needed to make important decisions on disaster and conservation programs, emergency programs, commodity price support loan programs, county office employment and other agricultural issues. Members serve three-year terms. Nationwide there are over 7,700 farmers and ranchers serving on FSA county committees.

To be eligible to serve on an FSA county committee, a person must participate or cooperate in an agency-administered program and reside in the local administrative area where the election is being held. A complete list of eligibility requirements, more information and nomination forms are available at www.fsa.usda.gov/elections.

All nominees must sign the nomination form FSA-669A. All nomination forms for the 2018 election must be postmarked or received in the local FSA county office by Aug. 1, 2018. Ballots will be mailed to eligible voters by Nov. 5 and are due back to the local USDA Service Centers on Dec. 3. The newly-elected county committee members will take office Jan. 1, 2019.

USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer and lender.

LFS registration Aug. 7 and 8

Registration for any families interested in attending Little Flower School will be held Tuesday, August 7th and Wednesday, August 8th from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. each day. Preschool, kindergarten and any new students would be required to have a copy of their birth certificate and immunization records. If you have any questions, please call the school at 776-6258.

Ely registration Aug. 7 and 8

Ely Elementary registration for all students in Kindergarten through sixth grade will take place Tuesday, Aug. 7, from 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. and on Wednesday, Aug. 8, from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Registration will take place in the Ely cafeteria.

Each student is required to have a copy of his/her birth certificate and immunization record.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact the Ely office at 776-5757.

Minot State Spring 2018 President’s List

Minot State University announced a total of 452 students were named to the Spring 2018 President’s List, according to MSU President Steven Shirley.

Students who earned a term grade point average of 3.8 or higher while enrolled for 12 or more credits during the 2018 spring semester were named to the list. The honor will show on the student’s transcript for the semester it was earned.

“We are pleased to honor the students who have earned the highest academic level at Minot State University the President’s List. These students represent the very best in academic achievement from the spring semester, and they are to be applauded for this accomplishment. Congratulations to all who earned this honor,” Shirley said.

Granville: Carson J Bachmeier, Camron Wayne McFarland

Rugby: Annie Marie Bachmeier, Mitchell Robert Roerick, Hannah Lee Voeller,

Rebekah Kathryn Wangler

Towner: Katie Jeanne Libert, Shelby Lynn Zahn

Upham: Ashley Johnson, Kendra A Johnson

Spring 2018 VP for Academic Affairs’ List

A total of 290 students were named to the Minot State University Vice President for Academic Affairs’ Honor Roll for the spring 2018 semester, the university announced Wednesday.

Students who earned a term grade point average of 3.5-3.79 while enrolled for 12 or more credits during the 2018 spring semester were named to the list. The honor will show on the student’s transcript for the semester it was earned.

“Congratulations to all of the individuals who earned a spot on the VP for Academic Affairs’ Honor Roll. This honor is a testament to the hard work and dedication of these students during spring semester. I am proud to honor all of the students named to this spring’s list,” said Laurie Geller, Minot State vice president for academic affairs.

Towner: Morgan C Oppen*

Upham: Brooke A. Plorin*

* The print edition of this story listed Taylor L. Vendsel and Derek Joseph Wax due to a sorting error in North Dakota names.

Please Enter Your Facebook App ID. Required for FB Comments. Click here for FB Comments Settings page