homepage logo

Rugby Lions celebrates 89 years

By Staff | Oct 27, 2017

Members and guests of the Rugby Lions Club met Monday to commemorate the 89th anniversary of the founding of the local club.

Following the meal, Lions 5NE District Governor Keith Zeutschel, of Horace, spoke to the club about the benefits of Lionism in the local community and in the world.

Lion Zeutschel inducted the new newest members of the club – Liz Heisey and Mike Hurly. Longevity chevron awards were presented to several members including Betty Triplett, 30 years; Lila Harstad, 20 years; Kyle Nelsen, 20 years; Kurt Arthur, 10 years; Tilman Hovland, 15 years; and current club president Bruce Rheault, 15 years.

Immediate past president Triplett was recognized for her second term as president of the Rugby club. Past District Governor Luis and Jan Coca were presented with the Lion of the Year award for their dedicated service to the club both locally and beyond.

Following the ceremonies the group was entertained by Minot magician Blake Krabseth, as he performed a program of magic tricks for the group.

The Rugby Club was founded by the Minot Lions Club on September 11, 1928. It is one of the oldest clubs in the state of North Dakota.

– Submitted by Dale Niewoehner, on behalf of the Rugby Lions Club

Please Enter Your Facebook App ID. Required for FB Comments. Click here for FB Comments Settings page