homepage logo

Chamber’s Donuts with Directors sees limited participation

By Staff | Jun 16, 2017

The Rugby Chamber of Commerce hosted “Donuts with Directors” on Tuesday, June 13 at its new location inside Prairie Village Museum.

According to new executive director, Miriah Koenig, the event was a chance for business owners to come meet the new board members and get to know the Chamber board a little bit better.

“Not a whole lot of people know what the Chamber does, so I wanted this to be a way for questions to get answered,” Koenig said. “I also wanted to show people the new space and the museum renovations.”

Donuts were baked fresh that morning in the Leevers bakery, and coffee and water were also made available.

“I just want people to know that the Chamber is here, and we’re willing to help. If people have questions or ideas, just because we’re in a new location, don’t be afraid to stop out,” Koenig said.

Because of rainy weather conditions, attendance by those in the community was limited.

“It’s unfortunate because the idea was there,” Chamber President Ashley Berg said. “What else do we have to do to get people to come out? That’s with any event, though. With the weather, people were most likely deterred.”

Berg said she wants the community to know that the Chamber is there for the businesses and any director is willing to assist and answer questions.

“Contact any of us. We want to listen and help,” she said.

“As the new Director, I look forward to getting new ideas from people and business owners of the community, which is why I think it is important to have that few hours a month set aside to welcome everyone out to visit,” Koenig said.

The Chamber will be hosting a visit with Directors August 8 from 11:30 a.m. – 1p.m. Cookies and coffee will be available. The Chamber is also looking for committee sign ups including Geographical Center Days, Parade of Lights, Softball Tournament and Promotions/Event.

Rugby Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors includes Ashley Berg, President; Laurie Odden, Vice President; Levi Heisler, Director; Steve Nelson, Director; Leah Harper, Director; Jessy Wicht, Director; Dave Lyon, Director; Jessica Deibold, Director; and Tricia Jundt, Director.

Please Enter Your Facebook App ID. Required for FB Comments. Click here for FB Comments Settings page