homepage logo

RHS student compete at regional instrumental contest

By Staff | Apr 28, 2017

Rugby High School had several students compete in the Regional Instrumental Contest earlier this month in Langdon.

Rugby High School had 26 entries compete at the Regional Instrumental Contest that was held on Friday, April 7, 2017 at the Langdon High School. The rating scale at contest is star, excellent, good, and fair. The entries that received a star will compete at the Class B State Music Contest on Saturday, May 7, 2017 at Minot State University. Results from the competition are the following:

Solos that received a star and will compete at state:

Flute Solo – Karin Selland

Oboe Solo – Maria Mack

Oboe Solo – Riley Grove

Clarinet Solo – Alyssa Kleespie

Clarinet Solo – Madalyn Pretzer

Baritone Saxophone Solo – Isaiah Johnson

Trumpet Solo – Kaitlyn Boucher

French Horn Solo – Elizabeth Skjelver

Trombone Solo – Anders Johnson

Percussion Solo – Kade Leier

Snare Drum Solo – Landon Rost

Snare Drum Solo – Trenton Sanford

Solos that received an excellent rating:

Flute Solo – Kaitlyn Boucher

Flute Solo – Kristina Brossart

Alto Saxophone Solo – Preston Tryba

French Horn Solo – Sasha Klein

Tuba Solo – Kyle Lashman

Snare Drum Solo – Karsyn Hager

Ensembles that received a star and will compete at state:

Flute/Oboe Duet – Karin Selland and Maria Mack (also received Outstanding Performance)

Clarinet Trio – Allyson Kleespie, Madalyn Pretzer, and Victoria Tryba

Saxophone Quartet – Preston Tryba, Madison Uhlenkamp, Dessa Denich, and Isaiah Johnson

French Horn Duet – Elizabeth Skjelver and Sasha Klein

Trombone Trio – Anders Johnson, Landen Foster, and Jacquelyn Blessum

Brass Ensemble – Kaitlyn Boucher, Kelly Swanson, Hayden Thingvold, Elizabeth Skjelver, Sasha Klein, Anders Johnson, Landen Foster, Jacquelyn Blessum, DJ Schneibel, and Kyle Lashman

Ensembles that received an excellent rating:

Flute Quartet – Kristina Brossart, Morgan LaRocque, Kate Heidlebaugh, and Lilly Schmidt

Percussion Quartet – Kade Leier, Landon Rost, Karsyn Hager, and Trenton Sanford

Please Enter Your Facebook App ID. Required for FB Comments. Click here for FB Comments Settings page