homepage logo

Three nominated to museum board

By Staff | Mar 31, 2017

Julie Sjol, guidance counselor at Rugby High School; Michelle Lake, recently retired from Merchants Bank; and Rugby Postmaster Terry Osse have been nominated to serve on the Geographical Center Historical Society board of directors. The election of board members will take place Thursday, April 13, in Dakota Farms restaurant meeting room, Rugby.

The society’s annual meeting will begin with dinner (on your own) at 6 p.m. The business meeting will start at 6:45 p.m. Attendees will get a sneak preview of the museum’s Old Main renovation project following the meeting.

Board member up for reelection is Roger Sitter. In addition to the election of board members, the agenda includes a review of the 2016 season, an update on the Old Main renovation project, highlights of the coming season, and a vote on proposed bylaws changes.

The meeting is open to the public, but only historical society members are eligible to vote. Memberships, which include season passes to the museum, will be available for purchase at Dakota Farms prior to the meeting.

In addition to those up for reelection, the board includes Linda Lysne, Dennis Miller, Kathy Blessum, Dr. Hubert Seiler, David Bednarz, and Paula Jelsing. Pat Bye, Mildred Rothgarn and Amanda Loughman have completed their terms and are going off the board.

The historical society’s annual Spring Kick-Off Dinner and Program, “War Stories,” will be held Sunday, April 30, at the Eagles. The museum opens for school tours May 1 and to the general public May 15.

For more information, visit the museum website at www.prairievillagemuseum.com.

Please Enter Your Facebook App ID. Required for FB Comments. Click here for FB Comments Settings page