homepage logo

City council reorganizes

By Staff | Jul 1, 2016

The Rugby City Council held its Reorganization Meeting Tuesday in City Hall. Bruce Rheault of Ward 1, Gary Kraft of Ward 2, Timothy Bartsch Sr. of Ward 3 and Sue Steinke of Ward 4 were sworn in and took their oaths of office during this time.

Nominations were held in order to select the Council President and Vice President, of which Neil Lotvedt and Gary Kraft were elected to the positions, respectively. Each councilman was elected without opposition for the titles.

Committee appointments were then discussed and clarified, as many positions have been rearranged. Committee members are as follows:

Finance Chuck Longie, Gary Kraft and Sue Steinke

Public Works Neil Lotvedt, Tim Bartsch and Gary Kraft

Public Safety Bruce Rheault, Chuck Longie and Tim Bartsch

Ordinance Sue Steinke and Bruce Rheault, with a position to be filled

Recreation Joel Berg, Gary Kraft and Chuck Longie

Personnel Bruce Rheault, Chief Rose and Candy Munyer

Building and Property Neil Lotvedt and Joel Berg, with a position to be filled

Tree Terry Wentz, Yolanda Schmidt, Mark Voeller, Troy Munyer and Sue Steinke

Visitor Bruce Rheault [4 year term], Kevin Lashman [4 year term], Cory Geiszler [4 year term], Michelle Lake [2 year term] and Ashley Berg [2 year term]

New appointments were also made, with Al Jundt as Building Official/Inspector effective on July 1, Terry Wentz as City Forester, Gary Kraft as City Representative for JDA, Neil Lotvedt and Tim Bartsch as City Representatives for LEC, Joel Berg as City Representative for the library, Sue Steinke for City Planning/Zoning and Neil Lotvedt for County Planning/Zoning.

One seat on the council is left empty, which is a position that Mayor Arland Geiszler hopes will be filled within the next month.

City offices will be closed Monday, July 4 in observance of the holiday, and the next council meeting will take place Tuesday, July 5 at 7:30 p.m.

Please Enter Your Facebook App ID. Required for FB Comments. Click here for FB Comments Settings page