homepage logo

HAMC Volunteers Awarded

By Staff | Apr 29, 2016

The Volunteer Appreciation Luncheon for the Heart of America Medical Center Volunteers was held last week at First Lutheran Church. In the past fiscal year, 163 volunteers recorded over 11,500 hours at the Haaland Home, Acute Care, Long Term Care, Hospice and the Clinic.

The Volunteer of the Year went to Marge Heilman for her many years and hours of dedicated service to the Heart of America Medical Center. Heilman began volunteering in 1999 and has recorded 2887 hours of volunteer service to HAMC. She started volunteering by donating crafts for the annual bazaar. Later she started doing hair care and perms at the Haaland Home and Care Center, helped with special events and kept going from there. She helps with the garden at the hospital and the Haaland Home, where she has donated plants, bulbs and rocks She makes lefsa and donuts for Haaland Home residents, and is known to bring fresh garden produce for those that enjoy it at the Care Center and the Haaland Home. Currently Heilman is a member of the Auxiliary Board and is co-chairperson for the lefsa project for the Bazaar and is also the co-chair for the Tree of Giving.

Receiving an award for the most hours for the year was Gayle Schneibel, who put in 526 hours. She also received an award for the most accumulated hours at 9127

Volunteers receiving their 50-hour pins were Rita Graber and Michelle Berube; 100-hour certificates went to Suzie Schmaltz, Eileen Pieterick, Betty Larson, Rodney Berg, Sister Jean Louise and Theresa Burgard; 200-hour certificates went to Shelley Block, Paula Binfet, Rob St. Michel, Karen Miller, Sandy Geiszler, Vernice Brossart, Edie Dunham and Joann Geisinger; 300-hour certificates went to Ann Mack, Frances Schneider, Jerry Thomas and Jane Gross; 400-hour certificates went to Donna Christenson and Susan Harmel; 500-hour certificates were to Veronica Haman and Rose Selensky; 600-hour certificates went to Charolette Wurgler, Peggy Oksendahl, Lois Volk, Mary Ann Koble and Laurie Odden; 700-hour certificates went to Janet Miller, Janice Knutson, Barbara Larson, Jackie Skipper, Lynda Childress, Janet Johnston and Judy Heintz; 800-hour certificates went to Richard Volk, Doris Tank, Larry Pieterick and Edie Wurgler; 900-hour certificates went to Lucy Fossum, Pat Ley, Bernie Volk and Christine Axtmann; 1000-hour certificates went to Sandy Mongeon, Donna Lennon, Rita Teigen and Ann Hager; 1200-hour certificates went to Joyce Meier, Arlene Schmaltz and Deb Hoffert; a 1300-hour certificate went to Arlyne Rothschiller; 1500-hour certificates went to Diane Leier and Mary Schneider; 1700-hour certificates went to Marlene Schaan, Harriet Kreklau and Susan Anderson; a 2000-hour certificate went to Judy Paulsen; a 2100-hour certificate went to Leila Lehmann; a 2400-hour certificate went to Frank Volk; a 2500-hour certificate went to Kathryn Volk; a 2600-hour certificate went to Bev Paul; a 2800-hour certificate went to Marge Heilman; a 3900-hour certificate went to Wanda Nielsen; a 5200-hour certificate went to Pat Sattler; a 5400-hour certificate went to Vivian Loken; 5800 hour certificates went to Vonnie Degenstein and Mary Cichos; a 6600-hour certificate went to Alma Bickler; an 8700-hour certificate went to Margaret Wittmayer; and a 9100-hour certificate went to Gayle Schneibel.

Please Enter Your Facebook App ID. Required for FB Comments. Click here for FB Comments Settings page