homepage logo

Commission Meets With Townships

By Staff | Jan 15, 2016

The Board of County Commissioners met with representatives of 14 of Pierce County’s organized townships in a special session Tuesday at the Memorial Hall.

Board chairman Dave Migler informed township representatives on a variety of subjects, including road projects, surge money distribution and maintenance.

Migler informed the townships that all townships would each receive $5,000 in surge funds from the state.

Migler informed the townships that county shop and blading costs have decreased this year to $145 per road mile.

Migler in formed the board that the county needs all billing and paperwork for projects using FEMA funds, as 2013 and 2014 would not be extended.

Encroachment on right of ways was discussed. Migler reminded townships that the right of way is 33 feet on township roads and 75 feet on farm to market roads, and that the board had put a motion in place saying any encroachment could be met with a written warning the first time and a $500 fine for each offense afterward.

Migler reminded townships that reflective signs need to be put up as last year was the deadline.

Weed control was also discussed. Migler asked if any townships received calls from Walker Landscaping, and some said no. Glen Keller, of Hagel Township, said the township sprayed weeds in September 2015.

Representatives of Rush Lake Township were not present at the meeting.

Organized townships are townships that have their own boards. The township boards, and not the county, make decisions for their respective townships.

Organized townships in Pierce County also include: Antelope Lake, Alexanter, Balta, Elling, Elverum, Jefferson, Meyer, Ness, Reno Valley, Torgerson, Truman, Tuscarora and White.

Please Enter Your Facebook App ID. Required for FB Comments. Click here for FB Comments Settings page