homepage logo

Coca Receives Well-Deserved Award

By Staff | Nov 6, 2015

Luis Coca, the past Lions President, received the Melvin Jones Award. Pictured with District Governor Rick Swenson of Rock Lake. Photo submitted.

The 87th Anniversary Charter Night of the Rugby Lions Club was held October 19th at the Rugby Eagles Club. During the event Lions Past President Luis Coca was honored with the prestigious Melvin Jones Fellowship Award. This top award named after the founder of Lions Club International, honors Lions who go above and beyond the “Lionism” to serve their community.

In addition, the local Gazebo Award was presented to Bruce Rheault for his work during the Music in the Park. Bruce is always there willing and able to lend a helping hand and is a richly earned recipient of this recognition.

The program included guest speaker from the 5th NE District Governor Rick Swenson of New Rockford. Other club awards presented during the evening were: Chevron Awards for thirty years and fifteen years of service that went to Wes Black and Jeff Miller respectively. Perfect attendance pins were presented to Pat Bye, Jan Coca, Ashley Burhartsmeier, Luis Coca, Ruth Fedje, Larry Fueller, Hartley Hagness, Lila Harstad, Tilman Hovland, Judy Jelsing, Galen Mack, Janet Miller, Jeff Miller, Sandy Mogeon, Dale Niewoehner, Bruce Rheault, Betty Triplet and Barb Welk. Jan Coca who is known as someone that will always go over and beyond the call of duty was this year’s recipient of the Lion of the Year award.

Please Enter Your Facebook App ID. Required for FB Comments. Click here for FB Comments Settings page