homepage logo

Mayor’s race in York still unsettled

By Staff | Jun 18, 2010

The mayoral election in York was not yet decided, as of late last week.

Incumbent Randy Silliman and Tommy David Moller each received five write-in votes at the June 8 election in this Benson County town. A recount was conducted on June 17 and still both men were deadlocked at five votes each. The next step will be a drawing of a name or some other method to break the tie, Bonnie Erickson, county auditor and election official said.

However, just when that will be conducted was not known prior to The Tribune going to press.

Linda Papachek was elected to the council. She received five write-in votes, replacing Carrie Vallier, who did not seek another term.


Lloyd Himle received 58 votes on June 8 to win another four-year term as Mayor of Leeds. There was a number of write-in votes and Paul Peterson received the most with 18.

Pete Ritterman and Kyle Nelsen were re-elected to seats on the city council, receiving 89 and 88 votes respectively. There was a handful of write-in votes.

Jeff Jacobson and Connie Elverud were elected to the Leeds Park Board, receiving 97 and 93 votes respectively. There was also a three-way tie for another term. Incumbent Sam Hanson, Randy Heck and Linda Lybeck each received five write-in votes.

A recount was held on June 17 and it concluded that Hanson and Lybeck each received five write-in votes while Heck had four. The next step will be to conduct some method to break the tie between Hanson and Lybeck. It was not determined when, or how that will take place. More than likely it will be done by drawing a name out of a hat.


Incumbent mayor Todd Thompson ran unopposed and received 164 votes to be elected to another four-year term on June 8 in Towner.

There were two four-year city commission terms also up for election. Incumbent Kimberly Berdahl received 154 votes. The other seat had to be filled by a write-in vote, and the top voter getter was Lyle Carpenter. He received eight votes.


Incumbent mayor Mark Myhre ran unopposed and was re-elected in Rolette to another four-year term. He received 77 votes. There were three candidates running for two spots on the city council.

Debbie Anklam and Keith Strong were elected with 63 and 62 votes, respectively. Brock Kavlie also ran and collected 40 votes.

Three positions on the city park board were up and all three candidates who filed were elected. They were: Wade Grenier (86 votes), Sherri Scott (82) and Angie Kavlie (77).


In the town of Knox, J.P. Robbins was re-elected to a four-year term on the city council. He received 12 votes. Sharon Hart was elected to a two-year seat. She received eight write-in votes. David Beck received six.

Please Enter Your Facebook App ID. Required for FB Comments. Click here for FB Comments Settings page