homepage logo

List of city election candidates is growing

By Staff | Mar 24, 2010

The list of candidates running for Rugby mayor has grown to three.

John Ford, Dennis Fred and Dave Cichos have filed for the four-year office. A few others have taken out petitions, but whether they plan to file is not known.

Earlier this year, two-term Mayor Dale Niewoehner announced he would not run again.

There are four council seats up – one in each of the four wards – and three residents have so far filed, including Dave Bednarz, ward two councilman. The others are: Don Haman for ward two; Jerry Harmel for ward three; and Arland Geiszler for ward four

Ward Three councilman Bill Hartl earlier indicated he will run again, but has yet to file.

Councilmen Steve Brossart, ward one; and Monte Schneibel, ward four, also have terms expiring, but decided not to seek re-election.

There are also three park board terms expiring and one of the incumbents, Rick Larson, has filed. George Dendinger and Ginger Collins’ terms are up this June, but whether they plan to run is not known. The filing deadline is by 4 p.m. on Friday, April 9. The city election is June 8.

Two city seats in Wolford and one in Balta are up for election in June.

In Wolford, the mayor and one city council seat is expiring. Jim Wolf is mayor while Jeff Slaubaugh holds the council seat.

In Balta, just one city council term is up and that seat is presently held by James Rennock. All offices are four year terms. The deadline to file for those respective seats is April 9 as well.

Please Enter Your Facebook App ID. Required for FB Comments. Click here for FB Comments Settings page