homepage logo

Tribune receives General Excellence Award

By Staff | May 11, 2009

The Pierce County Tribune again received top honors in the General Excellence category among the state’s top weekly newspapers at the 123rd North Dakota Newspapers Association convention in Bismarck earlier this month.

This marks the second consecutive year, and the fourth time in seven years The Tribune has earned first place in the General Excellence Category. The newspaper also received the honor in 2003, 2004 and 2008.

The award is given to the top newspaper in the state in each circulation category. The Tribune is in the category of largest weekly newspapers with a circulation of 2,000 or more.

The honor is based on story content, design and overall product among other qualities. The Tribune earned a second or third place honor five other times in the category since 1999.

Matt Mullally, Tribune editor, said receiving such an honor from peers in the newspaper industry is tremendous. The staff works hard each week to put together a quality newspaper for readers.

The Grand Forks Herald, Jamestown Sun, Metigoshe Mirror and Hazen Star also earned General Excellence Awards in its respective circulation categories.

In addition, sweepstakes awards went to newspapers that attained the most awards in the better newspaper contest. The Tribune received eight awards in the contest, including four first place finishes.

The staff earned award for best editorial page. Edie Wurgler received first place in the feature series category for her stories on country schools. Tribune Editor Matt Mullally received first place for sports section and an honorable mention in editorial writing. The staff also earned honorable mention in front page design.

Sonia Mullally received first place honor for design of a home and garden ad for Hardware Hank. She also received a pair of second place arwards for a healthcare advertisement for Johnson Clinic and use of color for an advertisement for Hardware Hank. The Tribune’s staff includes: Matt Mullally, Sonia Mullally, Phyllis Wiggins, Edie Wurgler, Stranford Harmel and Chris Opstedal.

Please Enter Your Facebook App ID. Required for FB Comments. Click here for FB Comments Settings page