homepage logo

Scholarship winners

By Staff | May 27, 2016

2016 Rotary scholarships awarded

The Minot Rotary Scholarship Foundation Fund, 2016 Rotary Scholarships have been awarded. This year there were 18 – $1,000 scholarships awarded to high school seniors from Minot and the surrounding area.

The Rotary Scholarship Foundation Fund was established by the Rotary Club of Minot 32 years ago. The goal of the fund is to provide scholarships to area youth through a permanent endowment fund held at the Minot Area Community Foundation. Scholarship applications are scored based upon participation in school activities, involvement in community service and charitable organizations, employment history and academic achievements.

Honorary scholarships were designated to honor local leaders for service to the community and/or to Rotary. The honorary scholarships are named for: Peter Hankla Honorary Scholarship; Alan Estvold Honorary Scholarship; Ken Kitzman Honorary Scholarship for Club & Community Service; Terry Zeltinger Honorary Scholarship; Jason Olson Honorary Scholarship for Community Service; Sharon Johnson Honorary Scholarship for Club Service; Bill & Leslie Mowbray Honorary Scholarship; Michael Berg Memorial Scholarship; and Lee Staab Honorary Scholarship for Community Service.

This year’s scholarship award recipients were as follows: From Rugby – Ashley Schmaltz, daughter of Nick & Jacinta Schmaltz.

Since its inception, the scholarship fund has awarded 693 scholarships totaling $611,000. Students earning scholarships are chosen by members of the Rotary Club of Minot who review and score every application.

Through the Minot Rotary Scholarship Foundation from its humble beginnings back in the 1940s to present, local Rotarians have taken great pride in putting service above self and have truly made a difference for local youth and our future.

Eagles awards scholarships

The Rugby Eagles Aerie 3834 has awarded their scholarships to Victor Gronvold, son of Bruce & Lori Gronvold, Rugby; and Taylor Wangerin, daughter of William & Lisa Wangerin, Apple Valley, Minn., formerly of Rugby.

The scholarships are based on scholastic, extra-curricular activities and leadership. Each student was awarded $300, which is used for their educational costs.

Knights of Columbus scholarship winners

The Rugby Knights of Columbus is pleased to announce the winners of the 2016 education scholarships. All received $250 scholarships from the local Knights of Columbus council.

The winners are: Rebekah Wangler, daughter of Dale & Chris Wangler; Spencer Koehmstedt, son of Karl & Brenda Koehmstedt; Lauren Kraft, daughter of David & Becky Kraft; Ashley Schmaltz, daughter of Nick & Jacinta Schmaltz; Tyler Schmaltz, son of Don & Sarah Schmaltz.

Please Enter Your Facebook App ID. Required for FB Comments. Click here for FB Comments Settings page