homepage logo

A fond farewell

By Staff | May 16, 2014

From left, Kathie Rocheleau, Theresa Wangler, Sherry Uhlenkamp, JoAnne Ziegler and Gary Myhre are this year’s retirees at Ely Elementary.

Rugby Public Schools recognized six employees set to retire this month at the staff recognition dinner Wednesday at Dakota Farms.

Retirees include Gary Myhre, a fifth grade teacher with 38 years experience; Kathie Rocheleau, elementary guidance counselor for 22 years; Daryl Wissink, high school music teacher for 13 years; Theresa Wangler, elementary food services for 22 years; JoAnne Ziegler, elementary food services for 32 years; and Sherry Uhlenkamp, elementary head custodian for 28 years.

Retirees were applauded after being recognized by peers and received a variety of gifts.

Teachers were also recognized for milestone years of service. Kerri Grochow, fourth-grade, was honored for 25 years; Karen Black, gifted and talented/technology, 20 years. The following were recognized for five years: Gary Storbakken, elementary custodian; Rita Sveet, high school special education; Sandy Johnson, high school special education; and Brad Cichos, high school head custodian.

School board members Dave Anderson and Cory Johnson were also recognized as their terms come to a close.

Daryl Wissink is the lone retiree at Rugby High School this year.

– Tribune Staff Report

Please Enter Your Facebook App ID. Required for FB Comments. Click here for FB Comments Settings page