homepage logo

State Spelling Bee held Friday

By Staff | Mar 21, 2014

The North Dakota Council of Educational Leaders (NDCEL), in conjunction with the North Dakota Association of County Superintendents, the North Dakota Newspaper Association and the North Dakota Masonic Foundation, sponsored the N.D. State Spelling Bee Competition in Bismarck on Friday. The North Dakota Newspaper Association and the N.D. Masonic Foundation provide grants to help fund the Bee. The N.D. Legislature also provides a grant in support of the program.

A maximum of two student winners from each county around the state arrived in Bismarck to participate in the one-day event being held at the Ramkota Hotel. This year there will be 97 County Bee winners participating in the state competition. All contestants first competed in a written round from which the finalists were chosen. The finalists competed on an equal basis in the oral spelldown with first-, second-, third- and fourth-place winners being chosen. Awards were donated by Merriam-Webster; Encyclopedia Britannica; Jay Sugarman, president and CEO of Starwood Financial Trust; and the North Dakota Association of County Superintendents.

The winner of the state bee will compete in the Scripps National Spelling Bee in Washington, D. C. May 25-31, 2014, with expenses paid for the champion and a companion by the North Dakota Council of Education Leaders, the North Dakota Newspaper Association and the N.D. Masonic Foundation.

For more information, please contact Lorraine Weber, coordinator for the 2014 N.D. State Spelling Bee, North Dakota Council of Educational Leaders, 258-3022.

Spelling Bee


Benson County: Evelyn Padilla, Maddock, and Declan Ritterman, Leeds

McHenry County: Dalton Hunter and Austin Schatz, Velva School;

Pierce County: Elizabeth Skjelver and Sara Stier, Rugby

Ramsey County: Jacob Dammen and Colby Rance, Devils Lake Central;

Rolette County: Emma Arstein, Rolette, and J. Delorme, Turtle Mountain

Towner County: Brenna Bulman and Noah Weltin, North Star Public

Ward County: Alyssa Ramsey, Jim Hill Middle, and Madeline Rickert, Erik Ramstad Middle

Wells County: Kesi Deaton, Fessenden-Bowdon, and Alaina Olson, Harvey Elementary

Please Enter Your Facebook App ID. Required for FB Comments. Click here for FB Comments Settings page