homepage logo

Rugby FFA chapter hosts leadership contest

By Staff | Oct 28, 2010

Rugby had an overall successful day, finishing as runner-up District Three Chapter of the Day at the District Three FFA Leadership competitions held Sept. 30 at Rugby High School.

Along with Rugby, FFA chapters from Bottineau, Rolla, St. John, Rolette, Towner, Granville, Drake-Anamoose, Harvey, and Fessenden make up District Three.

District Leadership allows FFA members to show their leadership abilities in several events.

In the Parliamentary Procedure contest, Rugby finished with gold. Members of the officer team included Mike Ostrem, president, Josh Stutrud, vice-president, Josie Klein, secretary, Andrew Hershey, treasurer, Kristen Mundahl, reporter, Chris Seaver, sentinel, Taylor DeMers, parliamentarian, and Kent Schmaltz, historian. All officers received gold awards, and Mike Ostrem also received the President Officer of the Day.

In the Greenhand Quiz event, Rugby received silver. As individuals, Keylee Odden, Michelle Black, Patricia Pfeifer, Kayla Voeller, and Allison Volk received silver awards, and Ariel Guse and Brittany Belgarde received bronze awards.

In the Sr. Quiz event, Rugby earned gold. As individuals, Mike Ostrem, Josh Stutrud, and Emily Voeller received gold awards, Kristen Mundahl, Kayla Koehmstedt, and Andrew Hershey received silver awards, and Haley Mygland received a bronze award.

In the speaking events, Abbey Paul received a silver award in extemporaneous speaking. Josh Stutrud received a silver award, and qualified for state in prepared speaking.

In the Job Interview contest, Mike Ostrem was named District Three Champion and state qualifier.

In the demonstration category, Tyler Mongeon and Preston Vetsch were named District Three Champions and state qualifiers.

Nigel Hagness said the FFA creed and received a silver award.

Please Enter Your Facebook App ID. Required for FB Comments. Click here for FB Comments Settings page