homepage logo

Rugby, area graduates receive scholarships

By Staff | May 29, 2009

A number of area high school graduates have received academic scholarships. They are listed here:

Dollars for Scholars

Recipients of 2009 Rugby Dollars for Scholars scholarships in the amount of $500 are:

Jacie Mundahl, the Bank of North Dakota/North Dakota Dollars for Scholars Scholarship. Jacie is the daughter of Doug and Shelley Mundahl. She plans to attend UND and study in the medical field.

Rugby Dollars for Scholars scholarships: Kristine Black, Marne Johnson, Shelby Deckert, Joclyn Seiler, Thomas Schwartz, Katelyn Berube, Tyler Block, Leif Selland, Jacob Stadum and Jeremy Johnston.

Kristine is the daughter of Wes and Karen Black. She will attend UND and study in the health care field. Johnson, the daughter of Dwight and Julie Johnson, will attend NDSU and study physics. Deckert is the daughter of Randy Deckert and Liz Deckert. She will attend NDSU and study political science.

Seiler, the daughter of Dr. Hubert Seiler and Tammie Harder, will study physical therapy at UND. Thomas Schwartz, the son of Cynthia Schwartz, plans to attend Bismarck State College and study in the medical field. Berube is the daughter of Jayme and Michelle Berube. She will attend the University of Mary and study accounting. Block is the son of Jerry and Theresa Block. He plans to study pre-med at NDSU. Selland is the son of Dr. Brian Selland and Rev. Sharon Baker. He will attend Gustavus Adolphus College. Stadum is the son of Jim and Laurie Stadum. He will study in the education or medical field at UND. Johnston is the son of Steve and Deb Goven. He will attend Minot State University and study physical therapy and coaching.

Other Rugby Dollars for Scholars $500 scholoarships:

Farmers Union-Harlan Paul Memorial Scholarship: Monica Pritchett and Lucas Schmaltz. Pritchett is the daughter of Rob and Michelle Bollinger and plans to attend MSU-Bottineau and study agricultural education. Schmaltz, the son of Blaine and Susan Schmalz, will attend NDSU and study agricultural education and ag sales.

Rugby Jaycees: Ashley Salwey, the daughter of Anita Salwey, will study business at the University of Mary.

Barton Sportsman’s Club: Justin Fjellanger, the son of Ron and Barb Fjellanger, will attend MSU-Bottineau and study wildlife management.

Northern Equipment Tradesman Scholarship: Nicole Hooker, the daughter of Chuck and Dorothy Hooker, will attend Minot State University and major in elementary education.

North Star Community Credit Union

North Star Community Credit Union-Rugby Branch, has awarded scholarships to Justin Fjellanger, Jacie Mundahl and Ashley Salwey.

Pierce County Farm Bureau

The Pierce County Farm Bureau has awarded its 2009 scholarships to Lucas Schmaltz and Jacie Mundahl. Lucas is the recipient of the Richard Gross Memorial Scholarship.

RHS Alumni Association

Rugby High School Alumni scholarship recipients for 2009 are Jacie Mundahl, Lucas Schmaltz and Kristine Black. The scholarships are in the amount of $400 each.

Alumni association scholarships were first presented at the All-School Reunion in 1986, and since that time 66 scholarships have been presented to outstanding RHS seniors. The North Dakota Community Foundation administers the fund, which was raised through contributions and many memorials received in honor of family and friends through the past years. Only the interest is used annually.

Maureen “Mo” McClintock Maetzold

A $250 scholarship has been awarded to Kristine Black.

Bill Monson Memorial

Shelby Deckert is the winner of this $500 scholarship.

Charles Hanneman

Two recipients of a $200 Charles Hanneman Memorial Scholarship are Bryant Halvorson and Brooks McClintock. Halvorson is the son of Rob and Sherry Halvorson. He plans to attend UND and pursue a career in the medical field. McClintock is the son of Jill and John McClintock. He also plans to attend UND.

Ashley Salwey is the winner of the $300 Charles Hanneman Memorial Scholarship.

Rugby Education Association

This $250 scholarship is awarded to a senior entering an educational field. This year’s winner is Lucas Schmaltz.

Don Rupp

The Don Rupp Scholarship in the amount of $320 is awarded this year to Marne Johnson.

Gene and Eva Rhine

Lucas Schmaltz has been awarded the Gene & Eva Rhine Memorial Scholarship in the amount of $300.

O.W. Johnson

O.W. Johnson Masonic Scholarships in the amount of $500 have been given to Jacie Mundahl and Joclyn Seiler.

ND Telephone

Kristine Black has been awarded a $500 scholarship from the North Dakota Telephone Company.

Heart of America Medical Center

This year’s winner of the $500 HAMC scholarship is Jacie Mundahl.

Farmers Union Elevator

Scholarships for $250 have been awarded to Justin Fjellanger, Jacie Mundahl and Lucas Schmaltz.

Bennie Selland Memorial

The Bennie Selland Memorial FFA scholarship in the amount of $200 has been given to Justin Fjellanger.

Ed Volk Memorial

The Ed Volk Leadership Scholarship in the amount of $200 has been awarded to Lucas Schmaltz.

Carol Shively Memorial

Laura Hoffert has been awarded the $200 Carol Shively Memorial Scholarship. Laura, the daughter of Ken and Angel Hoffert, plans to attend Dawson Community College and major in the medical field.


The $200 FFA Foundation Meat Science award goes to Katie Klein and Andrew Pfeifer. Klein is the daughter of Darwin and Judy Klein. She plans to attend cosmetology school in Grand Forks. Pfeifer is the son of Blaine Pfeifer. He plans to attend the North Dakota State School of Science.

Monica Pritchett is the winner of the $200 FFA Foundation Scholarship.

Catholic Family

The Catholic Family Rugby Branch has awarded book scholarships to Matthew Bohl, Shelby Deckert, Ashley Salwey, Daniel Gannarelli and Nicole Hooker. Bohl, the son of Adam and Twyla Bohl, plans to attend college. Gannarelli is the son of Bruce and Cherry Gannarelli. He will attend college.

Rugby Eagles

The Rugby Eagles have awarded a $250 scholarship to Lucas Schmaltz and Joclyn Seiler.

Bremer Community Service

Bremer Community Service Scholarships in the amount of $250 have been awarded to Jacie Mundahl and Nicole Hooker.

Farm Credit Services

Lucas Schmaltz has been awarded a $500 scholarship from Farm Credit Services.

Minot Elks

Jeremy Johnston and Jacie Mundahl have each been awarded a $2,500 LaVaughn Burkhartsmeier scholarship from the Minot Elks Charitable Foundation.

Steve Hett Scholarship

Shelby Deckert has a $1000 Steve Hett Scholarship.

Steve Hett was the co-founder of Midwest TeleServices International, Inc. (MTI), and when he passed away in 2006, the scholarship fund was established in his memory. Two scholarships are awarded annually to graduating seniors who are either employed by MTI or have a family member who works at MTI.

Dean’s Scholarship

Leif Selland has received the Dean’s Scholarship to attend Gustavus Adolphus College in St. Peter, Minn.

The Dean’s Scholarship recognizes students who show academic achievement, service, and/or leadership in their high schools, churches, and communities.

Leeds Dollars for Scholars

The Leeds Dollars for Scholars recently awarded scholarships at class night. Receiving scholarships from the class of 2009 are: Dustin Paulson, Denage Braaten, Kayla Bingham, Jason Vallier, Daniiel Luhman, Elliott Gunderson, Steve Hausmann, Kyle Britsch, and Cameron Leibfried.

Please Enter Your Facebook App ID. Required for FB Comments. Click here for FB Comments Settings page