homepage logo

Rugby FFA honors members at banquet

By Staff | Apr 30, 2009

The Rugby FFA chapter celebrated the accomplishments of its members and the rich history of the organization at its 77th annual parent-member banquet held at the Rugby Jr-Sr. High last month.

The chapter announced an inductee into its Hall of Fame, Curt Teigen. It presented two honorary chapter degrees to past members – Blaine Schmaltz and Fred Mitzel Jr. The guest speaker was Pastor Mike Pretzer, of First Lutheran Church, of Rugby. He was a very active member in the Carrington FFA chapter as a student and received many awards, and served as a state officer.

Also, current members were handed out awards for achievements throughout the year.

The top five members who sold the most food items as a chapter fundraiser were: Andrew Hershey, 1st; Justin Fjellanger, 2nd; Chris Fedje, 3rd; Bittany Heintz, 4th; and Garrett Thompson, 5th. This year the chapter raised over $8,000.

Special recognition went to members who went the extra mile they were: Tyler Mongeon, outstanding junior high member; Kristen Mundahl and Andrew Hershey, outstanding member; Zach Rameden, FFA achievement award; Chris Fedje, state chapter farmer; Lucas Schmaltz, star chapter agribusiness and Dekalb award; Justin Fjellanger, star chapter placement.

Scholarships were also awarded to seniors. They were:

Ed Volk Leadership: L. Schmaltz; Bennie Selland Memorial: J. Fjellanger; Rugby FFA Meats Science: Andrew Pfeifer and Katie Klein; Carol Shively Memorial: Laura Hoffart; Rugby FFA Foundation: Monica Pritchett.

Proficiency awards were handed out to display the outstanding work displayed by students in various agriculture fields of study. The applications are submitted to the chapter and then forwarded to the state, if it is judged best in the district competition. Rugby had 24 proficiencies sent to the district competition.

Ag Education: L. Schmaltz, gold, district winner; Ag Mechanic Repair and Maintenance Placement: A. Pfeifer, gold, district winner; Ag Processing: Matt Mattern, gold, district winner; Ag Sales Entrepreneurship: L. Schmaltz, gold, district winner; Ag Sales Placement: Jacey Shively, gold; Ag Services: Skylar Schneider, gold, district winner; Beef Production Entrepreneurship: Dustin Jundt, gold, district winner; Beef Production Placement: Nicole Jorgenson, gold, district winner; Dairy Production: J. Fjellanger, gold, district winner; Diversified Ag Production Placement: Christy Mattern, gold, district winner; Diversified Crop Production Placement: C. Fedje, gold, district winnerl Diversified Livestock Production Placement: Josie Klein, silver, district winner; Equine Science Entrepreneurship: Laura Hoffart, gold; Equine Science Placement: Jessica Lowman, gold, district winner; Fiber and Oil Crop Production: Mike Ostrem, gold; Forage Production: Jason Schneider, gold, district winner; Grain Production Entrepreneurship: Josh Stutrud, gold, district winner; Grain Production Placement: M. Ostrem, gold; Home and Community Development: Andy Brossart, gold, district winner; Landscape Management Placement: Tyler Larson, gold district iwnner; Outdoor Recreation: Mitch Grochow, silver, district winner; Poultry Production Placement: Jarret Lovcik, gold, district winner; Small Animal Production and Care: Kelsey Mongeon, silver; Veterinary Medicine: Z. Rameden, gold, district winner; Wildlife Production and Management: Garrett Thompson, silver, district winner

Please Enter Your Facebook App ID. Required for FB Comments. Click here for FB Comments Settings page