Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Public Notices | Home RSS

Rugby Lions Club Charter Night held

November 1, 2013
Chuck Repnow - Tribune Staff Writer , Pierce County Tribune

The 85th anniversary Charter Night for the Rugby Lions Club was held Monday, Oct. 21 at Dakota Farms Restaurant in Rugby. Lion President Luis Coca served as the master of ceremonies. 5NE District Governor Katherine Tweed, Fargo, was the guest speaker. Her motivating message was entitled "It's a Small World" and described how Lions International makes this possible.

Induction of new members, Kyle Anderson, Eldon Borgen and Mike McNeff was conducted by District Governor Tweed. Musical selections for the evening were provided by Jan Repnow. Club awards were presented to the following Lions: Pat Bye received the Past Presidents' plaque for her contributions as 2012-13 chapter president; Eldon Borgen received the Gazebo Award for his outstanding service with Lions Music in the Park. Luis Coca was presented Lion of the Year. Chevrons were given out for the following years of membership. 10-year chevrons were presented to Ruth Fedje, Larry Fueller, Tilman Hovland, Bruce Rheault; 20-year chevrons were given to Patricia Bye, Judy Jelsing, and Kathy Kirchofner; 25-year chevron to Charles Repnow; and a 30-year chevron to Hartley Hageness.

Lions members receiving perfect attendance pins were Kurt Arthur, Patricia Bye, Jan Coca, Luis Coca, Ruth Fedje, Larry Fueller, Hartley Hageness, Lila Harstad, Judy Jelsing, Joni Johnson, Galen Mack, Janet Miller, Jeff Miller, Sandy Mongeon, Charles Repnow, and Betty Triplett.

Article Photos

Joni Johnson, Lila Harstad and Janet Miller were recipients of the Melvin Jones Fellowship during The Lions Club Charter Night on Oct 21. From left to right: Chuck Repnow, Johnson, Dale Niewoehner, Kathryn Tweed, Harstad, Betty Triplett and Miller.

Melvin Jones Fellowships were presented to three members: Janet Miller, with her introduction given by Betty Triplett; Joni Johnson with her introduction given by Charles Repnow; and Lila Harstad with her introduction given by Dale Niewoehner. The fellowship is named in honor of the founder of Lions Club International, Melvin Jones. The award is presented for dedicated humanitarian service.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web