Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Public Notices | Home RSS

Peoples Briefs

July 13, 2012
Submitted information , Pierce County Tribune

Tashal Trottier participates in N.D.Governor's School

North Dakota high school sophomore and juniors participated in the 2012 North Dakota Governor's School on North Dakota State University's campus from June 3 July 14. The experience is a six-week hands-on educational honors program.

Tashal Trottier, daughter of David Trottier and Helen Ferguson, both Rugby, participated in Governor's School this year.

This year, students had the opportunity to study laboratory science, mathematics, information technology, English studies and visual arts theatre arts and visual arts alternate yearly.

"This program is about making a bridge from where students are at in high school to setting their future goals. It helps students think about getting a degree or even an advanced degree," said Lonnie Hass, director of Governor's School.

Students also attended life and leadership classes and traveled to Minneapolis to tour 3M facilities and visit the Science Museum, Valleyfair and Art Institute. In addition, the 2012 group visited the Guthrie Theater and Minneapolis Sculpture Garden near the Walker Art Center, as well as enjoyed a weekend canoeing the Crow Wing River in Minnesota.

In addition to a wide variety of academic experiences ranging from classroom work to field trips, Governor's School students take part in service-learning activities. This year, students helped raise food for the Walk for Hunger and volunteered for the Salvation Army, Lisbon Opera Festival, Dakota Boys Ranch, the Arc of Cass County and the Red River Zoo.

Governor's School is a state-sponsored and funded program hosted at NDSU each summer since 1990. Governor's School is tuition-free for students attending a North Dakota public school.

Blaine, Susan Schmaltz donate to Producing Futures in FFA

Blaine and Susan Schmaltz were the second family to donate to the Producing Futures Program in honor of the Rugby FFA Chapter.

These longtime supporters of the Rugby FFA were excited to join the program and help out the ND FFA, an organization near and dear to their heart.

For less than $1 per day for a year, anyone can enroll in the ND FFA Foundation's Producing Futures Program. This program ensures that ND FFA continues its mission to develop tomorrow's advocates in agriculture. A $350 production-based donation enrolls people, like the Schmaltz family, in the Producing Futures Program. Donaters will also receive an "I Support ND FFA" field sign to proudly display. Mike Ostrem and now the Schmaltz' are proud to display this sign.

There are only 29 people/businesses enrolled in the program representing 12 chapters across the state. Contact the Rugby Ag Department at 701-776-5065.

Dr. Lyle

Best Retires

With a heavy heart Heart of America Clinic announces the retirement of Dr. Lyle Best. Dr. Best has been an excellent physician since he started at Johnson Clinic PC 1998, which was later, renamed Heart of America Johnson Clinic.

Through the years Dr. Best has given much to the Rolette community, including teaching at Turtle Mountain Community College. He has been a champion of the movement to improve access to health care within Rolette County.

Dr. Best leaves Rolette to go to the Watford City area, where he will live on a ranch with his son and family. Dr. Best will not be practicing medicine there.

He will be seeing patients until the end of July.

Lind places in Congressional Art Competition

Tanner Lind, Mandan, formerly of Rugby, placed in the 2012 Congressional Art Competition in May.

The winners of each district are flown to Washington, D.C., and invited to attend a reception sponsored by the Congressional Institute.

His artwork, "North Dakota: A State of Transformation", is currently hanging in Congressman Rick Berg's district office.

Rugby FFA presents officers

The Rugby FFA Chapter is proud to present the 2012-2013 officer team. President: Cole Genetzky, Vice President: Preston Vetsch, Secretary: Amber Jaeger, Treasurer: Nikki Atkinson, Reporter: Keylee Odden, Sentinel: Brian Jordan, Parliamentarian: Cassandra Jaeger, Historian: Matt Johnson, Student Advisor: Patricia Pfeifer, and Chaplain: Benji Miller.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web