Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Rugby students earn scholarships

June 4, 2010
Tribune Staff Report

A number of Rugby High School graduates earned scholarships from a number of organizations, businesses and entities. Here's a listing for those recipients:

Dollars for Scholars

Recipients of 2010 Rugby Dollars for Scholars scholarships in the amount of $500 are:

Abigail Jenkins, Thomas Seaver, Marina Laughridge, Kristin Migler, Courtney Putnam, Stephanie Friestad, Kelsey Mongeon, Nicole Jorgenson, Pake Hagen, Theresa Mack, Shelby Hageness, Joshua Houim, Emerald Collins, Chelsea Halvorson, Kaitlin Blessum.

Abigail is the daughter of Debra and the late Bob Jenkins. She will attend Northwestern University in Illinois and study film. Seaver, the son of Kirk and Jacque Seaver, will attend UND and study pre-med/biology. Laughridge, the daughter of Dave and Dawn Laughridge, will attend UND and study graphic design. Migler, the daughter of Marvin and Karen Migler, will attend UND and study physical therapy. Putnam, the daughter of Jamie and Brian Putnam, will attend Montana State University and study medical lab science. Friestad, the daughter of David Friestad and Stacy Friestad, will attend the University of Mary and study biology. Mongeon, the daughter of Jason and Jodi Mongeon, will attend NDSU and study pharmacy. Jorgenson, the daughter of Kory and Linda Jorgenson, will attend NDSU and study nursing. Hagen, the son of Jan Hagen, will attend NDSU and study math. Mack, the daughter of Galen and Glenda Mack, will attend the University of Mary and study music and psychology. Hageness, the daughter of Todd and Sandy Hageness, will attend Lake Region State College and study early childhood development. J. Houim, the son of Nancy and the late David Houim, will attend Bismarck State College and study engineering. Collins, the daughter of Ginger Strand, will attend the University of Mary and study healthcare. Halvorson, the daughter of Rob and Sherry Halvorson, will attend UND and study physical or occupational therapy. Blessum, the daughter of Brian and Sue Blessum, will attend Minnesota State Community and Technical College in Perham, Minn., to pursue an administrative assistant degree.

Other Rugby Dollars for Scholars $500 scholarships:

Farmers Union Oil-Harlan Paul Memorial Scholarship: Zachary Rameden and Dustin Jundt. Rameden is the son of Joe and Nancy Rameden and plans to study agriculture education at NDSU. Jundt, the son of Dennis and Brenda Jundt, will attend Bismarck State College and study farm and ranch management.

Rugby Jaycees: Chris Fedje, the son of Andy and Deanne Fedje, will attend NDSU and study agriculture business.

Northern Equipment: Erica Parcel, the daughter of Jodi and Paul Schaan, will attend Ridgewater College in Willmar, Minn., to pursue a veterinarian tech degree.

Barton Sportsman's Club: Jacey Shively, the daughter of Wade and Sandy Shively, will study wildlife/biology at Bismarck State College.

O.W. Johnson

O.W. Johnson Masonic Scholarships in the amount of $500 have been given to Courtney Putnam and Thomas Seaver.

Maureen "Mo" McClintock Maetzold

A $250 scholarship has been awarded to Kelsey Leier. She is the daughter of LeeAllen and Rebecca Leier and plans to study business administration at Mayville State University.

Bill Monson Memorial

The $500 scholarship has been awarded to Abigail Jenkins.

Charles Hanneman

Two recipients of a $200 Charles Hanneman Memorial Scholarship are Pake Hagen and Mitch Grochow. Grochow, the son of Scott and Kerry Grochow, will attend Minot State University.

Chelsea Halvorson is the winner of the $300 Charles Hanneman Memorial Scholarship.

Rugby Education Association

This scholarship is awarded to a senior entering an educational field. This year's winner is Shelby Hageness.

Don Rupp

The Don Rupp Scholarship in the amount of $320 is awarded this year to Jordan McGath.

North Star Community Credit Union

North Star Community Credit Union-Rugby Branch, has awarded scholarships in the amount of $200 to Dustin Jundt and Taylor Harmel. Harmel is the son of Gary and Annette Harmel and will study process and power plant technology at Bismarck State College.

Gene and Eva Rhine

Thomas Seaver has been awarded the Gene and Eva Rhine Memorial Scholarship in the amount of $300.

ND Telephone Company

Chris Fedje has been awarded a $750 scholarship from the North Dakota Telephone Company.

Anne Schmaltz has been awarded a $1000 scholarship from the North Dakota Telephone Company and the Foundation for Rural Education and Development. Schmaltz, the daughter of Blaine and Susan Schmaltz, plans to study elementary education and music at Jamestown College.

Heart of America Medical Center

Stephanie Friestad and Nicole Jorgenson have been awarded scholarships in the amount of $500 from the Heart of America Medical Center.

Farmers Union Elevator

Scholarships for $250 have been awarded to Dustin Jundt, Nicole Jorgenson, and Christy Mattern. Mattern, the daughter of Lawrence and Deb Mattern, plans to attend Minot State University.

Bennie Selland Memorial

Jacey Shively has been awarded a $300 Bennie Selland Memorial FFA Scholarship.

Ed Volk Leadership

Zach Rameden has been awarded a $300 Ed Volk Leadership Scholarship.


Christy Mattern has been awarded a Rugby FFA Production Scholarship in the amount of $200.

The FFA Foundation Meat Science Scholarship in the amount of $300 has been awarded to Chris Fedje.

Andrew Oksendahl, Dustin Jundt, and Brandon Wangler have been awarded $200 FFA Foundation Meat Science Scholarships. Oksendahl, the son of Bruce and Donna Oksendahl, plans to study wildlife management at Dakota College at Bottineau. Wangler, the son of Rodney and Crystal Wangler, plans to attend Bismarck State College.

Taylor Harmel has been awarded a $100 FFA Foundation Meat Science Scholarship.

A $300 FFA Foundation Scholarship has been awarded to Kelsey Mongeon.

Zach Rameden has been awarded a $1,000 scholarship from Alliance Pipeline.

Catholic Family

The Catholic Family Rugby Branch has awarded book scholarships to Nicole Jorgenson, Dustin Jundt, Kristin Migler, Andrew Oksendahl, Zach Rameden, Aaron Teigen, and Andrea Volk. Teigen, the son of Karen and John Teigen, plans to study physical therapy at UND. Volk, the daughter of Harold and Joan Volk, will attend Minot State University and study business.

Rugby Eagles

Courtney Putnam and Aaron Teigen have been awarded a $250 Rugby Eagles Scholarship.

Bremer Community Service

Chris Fedje, Nicole Jorgenson, and Kaitlin Blessum have been awarded a $250 Bremer Community Service Scholarship.

Burlington Northern Santa Fe Foundation

Recipients of the 2010 Horatio Alger North Dakota Scholarship in the amount of $5000 are Zach Rameden and Erica Parcel. The Horatio Alger Award is provided by the Burlington Northern Santa Fe Foundation.

Minot Elks

Jacey Shively, Anne Schmaltz, Theresa Mack, and Nicole Jorgenson have each been awarded $2,500 LaVaughn Burkhartsmeier Scholarships from the Minot Elks Charitable Foundation.

RHS Alumni Association

Nicole Jorgenson, Thomas Seaver, Pake Hagen, and Kelsey Leier have each been awarded the Rugby High School Alumni Scholarship in the amount of $500.


Jacob Nelson is the winner of the North Dakota Farm Bureau Scholarship in the amount of $500. Nelson is the son of Jon and Shirley Nelson and will study business at UND.

NDSU Foundation

Nicole Jorgenson has been awarded the North Dakota State University Development Foundation Honor Scholarship in the amount of $1,000.

Mayville State University

Kelsey Leier has been awarded the Freshman Honor Scholarship from Mayville State University.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web